Tags

Tonight marked the end of the symphony season. As usual, the orchestra put on a jolly good show, a perennial favorite featuring a fast-paced mix of arias, show tunes and other delights. I arrived late, racing in from counseling with Girlfriend and an unexpected battle involving a parking meter and my debit card. I landed in my seat just in time for the downbeat: the gorgeous waltz from Lehar’s The Merry Widow, breathtakingly supple. As part of the festivities, guest dancers swayed and twirled in the narrow passage between the conductor and the stage’s edge.

The singers were marvelous, all of them, richly nuanced and engaging. Broadway’s original Phantom from Phantom of the Opera rendered Music of the Night so lyrically and touchingly that shivers rolled up and down my spine. I closed my eyes, wished for a shoulder to lean on.

And then, near the end of the concert, to my absolute delight…the boisterous Drinking Song (Libiamo…) from La Traviata. Bravo!

Life has been a little hectic lately. It felt wonderfully relaxing to step out of time and into the music.

And yeah, I confess…cookies and champagne certainly took the edge off, too.

